• Store
  • COVID-19 Info
  • APHON Swag

APHON Nurse in Washington Internship (NIWI) Scholarship

niwilogoAPHON is committed to being influential in decision-making affecting the care for children, adolescents, and young adults with cancer and other blood disorders. As a part of this commitment, we want to ensure that our members have the knowledge and opportunity to participate in the creation of public policy and advocacy related to nursing, and in particular pediatric hematology/oncology nursing. In that spirit, we are pleased to offer the APHON NIWI Scholarship to APHON members.

NIWI provides nurses with the opportunity to learn how to influence health care through legislative and regulatory processes. Participants learn from health policy experts and government officials, network with other nurses, and visit members of Congress. Scholarship winners will be expected to share their experiences and expertise with their fellow members, possibly through an article in APHON Counts.

Each APHON NIWI Scholarship will cover registration, lodging, and travel expenses for two APHON members that meet the scholarship eligibility criteria. The APHON Advocacy/Health Policy committee will review all applications and select the two applicants deemed most appropriate as the scholarship recipients.

Eligible nurses will be:

  1. A registered professional nurse with a current, unrestricted license;
  2. At least two years of pediatric hematology/oncology nursing experience;
  3. A current APHON member (minimum of one-year membership);
  4. New to NIWI, not having attended in the past;
  5. Willing to share what she or he learned and experienced at this meeting with other APHON members;
  6. Currently practicing in pediatric hematology/oncology;
  7. A good communicator, both in writing and orally.

Completed nominations must include a current CV and must be submitted by December 31. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions or concerns about the scholarship program.


  • 2019 Vanessa Bertini, MSN RN CPN CPON® and Jackie Kuna, BSN RN OCN®
  • 2018 Chantal Jessup BSN RN CPON® and Jennifer Livingston, NSc APRN CPNP-PC CPON®
  • 2017 Kathy Kelly PhD RN CPON® and Anthony Yost, RN CPHON®
  • 2016 Leslee Bertram, DNP CPNP CPHON® and Stacey Crane, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2015 Beth Savage, PhD MSN CPNP CPON® and Courtney Sullivan, MSN NP RN CPON®