• Store
  • APHON Swag

Dr. Cheryl C. Rodgers Excellence in Evidence-Based Practice Award

CherylRodgersEstablished in 2018, this award was created in honor of APHON member Dr. Cheryl C. Rodgers who was instrumental in setting standards in putting evidence into practice. This award is selected by the APHON Evidence-Based Practice/Research Committee and presented annually to an APHON member who has demonstrated high-quality contributions to evidence-based practice in the nursing care of children and their families in any area of hematology/oncology nursing practice.

The recipient of this award receives a $250 honorarium, recognition at the annual conference business and awards luncheon, APHON Counts, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient's employer.

Candidates for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • APHON member in good standing.
  • Demonstrates excellence evidence-based practice through one or more of the following:
    • Completion of an independent, evidence-based practice project that:
      • Advances the care of children, adolescents, and young adults with cancer or hematological disorders and their families.
      • Shows a significant contribution to the scientific foundation for practice.
    • Lead author for a noteworthy oral presentation or a poster presentation of an EBP project at an APHON conference.
    • Demonstrates commitment to evidence-based practice through their professional body of work noted through a detailed description of EBP projects in the nomination packet.
  • Maybe self-nominated or may have nomination submitted by another APHON member. If submission submitted by another APHON member, the EBP/Research Committee may reach out to the nominee to obtain more detailed information to support evidence of EBP involvement and completed projects if needed to support the nomination.

Completed nominations must include the nominee's CV and two letters of recommendation that elaborate on the above criteria, along with a documented summary of the EBP project. Nominations must be submitted by June 30. Current members of the EBP/Research Committee are not eligible for this award.

Nominate or apply

Past Recipients

2022 Recipient

Teresa Herriage, DNP APRN CPHON®

Past Recipients

  • 2020: Barbara A. Lockart, DNP CPNP-PC & AC
  • 2019 Elizabeth A. Duffy, DNP RN CPNP
  • 2018 Deborah A. Lafond, DNP PPCNP-BC CHPPN CPON®
  • 2017 Cheryl Rodgers, PhD MSN BSN CPNP CPON®
  • 2015 Emily K. Browne, DNP MSN BS