• Store
  • APHON Swag

JOPHON Writing Award

JOPHONcoverresizedforwebSelected by the Editorial Board of the Journal of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing (JOPHON), the recipient of this award is a first author of a manuscript accepted for publication in the journal in the last year and who has had three or more manuscripts published previously. This award has been supported by Sage Publications since 2003.

The recipient of this award receives a $100 honorarium, recognition at the annual conference business and awards luncheon, APHON Counts, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient's employer.

All eligible candidates that were published in JOPHON in the last year are automatically considered for this award which is selected by the JOPHON Editorial Board.

Past Recipients

2022 Recipient

Mary Baron Nelson, PhD RN CPNP-PC

Prior Recipients

  • 2021: Ijeoma Julie Eche, PhD FNP-BC AOCNP CPHON® BMT-CN®
  • 2020 Ijeoma Julie Eche, PhD FNP-BC AOCNP CPHON® BMT-CN®
  • 2019 Cheryl Rodgers, PhD RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2018 Catherine M. Laing, PhD RN
  • 2017 Verna Hendricks-Ferguson, PhD RN CHPPN FPCN FAAN
  • 2016 Verna Hendricks-Ferguson, PhD RN CHPPN FPCN FAAN
  • 2015 Suzanne Ameringer, PhD RN
  • 2014 Rebecca Rusch, MSN RN CPNP CPHON®
  • 2012 Rita S. Secola, PhD RN CPON®
  • 2011 Marilyn Hockenberry, PhD CPON®
  • 2010 Cheryl Rodgers, PhD CPNP CPON®
  • 2009 Lauri Linder, PhD APRN CPON®
  • 2008 Sue K. Ogle, MSN RN CRNP
  • 2007 Eufemia Jacob, PhD RN
  • 2006 Belinda Mandrell, MSN RN CPNP
  • 2005 Angela Ethier, MSN RN CNS CPN CT
  • 2004 Christina Baggott, MN RNCS PNP CPON®
  • 2003 Roberta Woodgate, PhD RN
  • 2002 Pat Hollen, PhD RN
  • 2000 Pamela Hinds, PhD RN CS
  • 1999 Kathy Ruccione, MPH RN FAAN
  • 1998 Marilyn Hockenberry-Eaton, PhD RN CPON®; Pamela Hinds, PhD RN CS
  • 1997 Katherine J. Forte, MS RN CPNP CPON®
  • 1996 Holly Ann Willians, MSN RN CS CPON®
  • 1995 Linda Birenbaum, PhD RN
  • 1994 Kathy Ruccione, MPH RN FAAN